The NHS Covid-19 app has been updated to fix an issue with confusing alerts that pop up suggesting exposure to the virus and then disappear.
Users have complained that the notifications are scary and confusing.
In fact, the messages are a default privacy notification from either Apple or Google, which provide the underlying contact-tracing technology.
The alerts will still appear, but now a follow-up message from the government will tell people to ignore them.
NHS Covid-19 is targeted at users living in England and Wales.
Among other functions, the software is designed to warn users if they have recently been in close proximity to someone later diagnosed with the virus for long enough for there to be a high risk of contagion. If this is the case, it instructs the handset owner to go into self-isolation.
Scotland and Northern Ireland have apps